Sailor Man Smoothie

Standard

When we got our Vitamix from my husband’s parents, they told us the first thing we should make is a Sailor Man Smoothie…it was their favorite. So, the day we took the Vitamix out of the box we went straight to the grocery store to pick up the necessary ingredients. The Sailor Man Smoothie was not only the first thing we made in our Vitamix, but it was also our first green smoothie!

IMG_2019

The original recipe for the Sailor Man Smoothie can be found in the Whole Food Recipes cookbook. I’ve tweaked the recipe a little, but mainly to make use of what we had in our fridge.

IMG_2015

Green smoothies may seem scary, but look at the tropical flavors that are under that vibrant green color! Although the Sailor Man is very much a summertime smoothie, I like in the winter too so you can imagine laying on a warm beach somewhere as you drink it down.

IMG_2016

If you don’t have a Vitamix, I wouldn’t worry too much. You’re average blender should be able to mix this smoothie up with no problem.

IMG_2017

Sailor Man Smoothie

Prep time: 5 min

Cook time: n/a

Serves: 2

  • 10 large, green grapes
  • 1/2 apple, deseeded
  • 1 banana, peeled
  • 1/4C vanilla yogurt
  • 1/2C pineapple
  • 2C greens
  • 1C ice
  1. Add all ingredients into blender
  2. Blend until smooth
  3. Enjoy!

Question: Do you drink green smoothies? Do you follow recipes or wing-it, and use whatever’s in the fridge?

2 responses »

  1. Yes! Green smoothies are my new addiction! I always include a frozen (pre-sliced) banana for creaminess and skim milk for calcium, but otherwise I keep a stock of frozen fruits and containers of 0% greek yogurt of various flavors (and a supply of plain just in case) and wing it with whatever I’m in the mood for. I have one for breakfast every day and I am never hungry but I am losing weight and feel amazing. I am officially a smoothie junkie.

    • Green smoothies are SUCH an addiction! I used to only use juicy fruit (grapes, oranges, fresh pineapple etc) for the liquid portion of my smoothies, but recently started using milk. So far I’ve tried cows milk & almond milk, and love the addition of either!

Leave a Reply

