Successful Substitutions

Standard

Our week hasn’t been particularly adventurous as far as food is concerned. I have, however, had a lot of success with some substitutions I’ve made for some of my go-to recipes!

First up is a substitute I made to my Banana-Oat Breakfast Bites recipe.

IMG_2184

Instead of 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, I used 1 teaspoon of almond extract. The result is almond-y and delicious! If you want a more subtle almond flavor, I would suggest using 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract.

Next up isn’t really a substitute, but more of an alternate way to use the same method. Remember how I used the microwave to cook the egg for my Breakfast Sandwich? Well, I’ve started making sunny side up eggs in the microwave too:

IMG_2193    IMG_2194

I simply crack an egg into a microwave-safe bowl, and microwave for 30-40 sec and have a perfectly cooked egg! I’ve been enjoying my runny egg over some avocado in the mornings, mmmm.

IMG_2195

Lastly, I went to make my beloved Avocado, Tuna & Quinoa Jumble yesterday only to see we were out of limes & lemon-pepper seasoning.

IMG_2183

I knew I needed to substitue some sort of acid for the limes, so I opted for red wine vinegar (the acid in the lime juice/vinegar is what keeps the avocado from turning brown). I know I like mustard & red wine vinegar together in salad dressing, so I thought this brown mustard rub might work well. So, instead of the juice of 1 lime, I used 1 tablespoon of red wine vinegar and instead of 1 teaspoon of lemon-pepper seasoning, I used 1 teaspoon of brown mustard-honey seasoning. Success!

Sometimes substitutions totally flop, but this week I’ve had some big successes so I thought I’d share them with you all. Usually I’m pretty good about having the “right” ingredients on-hand, but it’s always nice to vary your go-to recipes once in a while.

Question: Do you often make substitutions to vary some of your favorite recipes?

Leave a Reply

