Out-the-Door Breakfast Sandwich

Standard

Getting out the door in the morning with a full belly is a struggle for a lot of people. And, we’ve all heard it before, “Breakfast is the most important meal of the day”. I agree, breakfast gets your day started on the right foot. Plus, if I’m hungry all I will think about is food until I’ve eaten, and that’s not a very productive way to start my day! I tend to have the same few things for breakfast during the week: green smoothie, overnight oats, yogurt & granola or a breakfast sandwich.

IMG_2003

I know what your thinking, “I don’t have time to make a breakfast sandwich in the morning.” Well, that’s just not true. This sandwich takes less than 5min to make, because it uses the microwave! First I put a handful of whatever greens I have in the fridge into a microwave-safe bowl (spinach usually, but this time it was mixed baby kales), and microwave for 1min.

IMG_1996    IMG_1997

Next comes 1 egg + 1 egg white and my favorite part, some Siracha! This step is totally flexible. You could use 1 egg, 2 eggs, 2 egg whites, etc etc. Also, if you don’t like spicy foods you could use less Siracha than I do, or you could just use some fresh ground black pepper.

IMG_1998     IMG_1999

Once it’s all mixed, place it in the microwave for 1 min. It will come out mostly cooked, but then I sprinkle a little shredded cheese on top and microwave for 45 sec. Then, use a fork to pull the egg away from the edge of the bowl & place it on your bread!

IMG_2001

You can use whatever kind of sandwich bread you like, I always have these Multigrain Rounds on-hand. Also, I prefer to toast mine for this sandwich. Some sort of breakfast meat is always a great addition here, it’s just a matter of time. If you have time to cook up some turkey bacon, that’s awesome! If not, a slice or two of deli turkey could bulk up this sandwich very nicely.

Out-the-Door Breakfast Sandwich

Prep time: 2 min

Cook time: 3 min

Serves: 1

  • handful of greens (spinach, kale, etc)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg white
  • Siracha
  • 1T shredded cheese
  • sandwich bread
  1. Place greens in a microwave-safe bowl; microwave 1min
  2. Mix in 1 egg, 1 egg white and Siracha; microwave 1min
  3. Top with shredded cheese; microwave 45sec
  4. Use fork to lift egg away from edges of bowl & place on your bread

Question: What do you eat for breakfast during the week?

13 responses »

  1. Microwave egg sammy is such a great out the door breakfast.I love the added greens, great idea. And I’m always a huge fan of the 100 calorie, multi-grain English muffins.

  2. This is everything I love in a recipe- delicious, healthy AND easy?!? My green smoothies better watch out- there’s a new breakfast in town!

  3. Made this for breakfast this morning. Never would have thought of doing the spinach in the microwave first, and it was amazing. Added extra bulk to one egg, and was super easy!

  4. Just tried this. Took me 15 min, not 5, as I predicted :-). But it was excellent. Next time I would put more Siracha in it, and cook the egg initially for a little less than a full minute. I also added lots of black pepper which you know, I love. Anyway thanks for the idea. I’ll definitely do this often, as it’s so easy!

  5. Pingback: Banana-Oat Breakfast Bites | Sweet Potato & Spice

  6. Pingback: Successful Substitutions | Sweet Potato & Spice

Leave a comment